Serato Video General Discussion

Talk about Serato Video and Video-SL.

PC Intel 2ghz 2GB RAM XP Pro = MAC Intel 2ghz 2GB RAM Tiger/Leopard ???

ral 7:39 PM - 15 December, 2007
just curious, is it the same speed??? i always thought the mac processor ghz is doubled up than pc.. enlighten me up.
marx 7:46 PM - 15 December, 2007
nope i don't agree with that. I will say that when u use mac its usually a smoother performence wise, so people take that as it feels like its faster when you compare the same speeds. I personally would perfer running video on a mac. If which has better performence....well only time will tell. But I have a feeling it will be a mac.

Remember I am a macbook pro owner that uses vista 90% of the time.
nik39 8:05 PM - 15 December, 2007
Quote:
But I have a feeling it will be a mac.

Dito.
dj disturbed 9:28 PM - 15 December, 2007
Quote:
just curious, is it the same speed??? i always thought the mac processor ghz is doubled up than pc.. enlighten me up.

that was the way it was for the old "g" series proseesors, you could not compair the hrz of mac and PC then b/c they used diff ways of doing thing inside the computer, but sense they now both use intel chips (or other chips that run the same way) now 2ghz means 2 ghz on either platform, With the old chips a 2ghz g5 was like running a 2.5-2.8ghz pc chip.
ral 9:33 PM - 15 December, 2007
thx disturbed. thats what im thinkin too about the intel processor.. so its all bout the OS now
dj disturbed 9:36 PM - 15 December, 2007
yup
dj disturbed 9:38 PM - 15 December, 2007
but of coarse there are alot of other facters involved to like , System Buss speeds, Amount of lvl 1,2,3 cache and where its located in the system, the amount of ram and what type it is that can change the way a computer that has a processor rates at the same speed and other computers can actually be faster or slower the other other ones
djsteel 10:38 AM - 16 December, 2007