Serato DJ Lite / Intro General Discussion

Talk about Serato DJ Lite / Intro software and controllers.

What speakers and subs do I need

hhill19 6:32 AM - 1 October, 2019
I'm new to DJing and got my first gig, it's a Halloween dance. So far I've got 2 Yamaha DBR 10 inch speakers. I was wondering what subwoofer I should be looking at? Size brand model? The dance will have a maximum of 200 people. Do i also need more speakers or will the 2 be enough for this size? TIA
DJ Tecniq 3:23 PM - 1 October, 2019
QSC KW181 it’s a beast or they just released the KS118 which is an upgraded model of the 18” KW181 except w/3600 watts of power.
hhill19 5:23 AM - 2 October, 2019
Thank you! Do you think my 2 speakers will be enough with a subwoofer for a maximum of 200 people?
DJ Tecniq 2:36 PM - 2 October, 2019
Quote:
Thank you! Do you think my 2 speakers will be enough with a subwoofer for a maximum of 200 people?
Yes definitely you can put the sub underneath the table and your tops you can put on speaker stands. An 18” sub and two speakers are more than enough for 200 ppl.
DJ Tecniq 2:38 PM - 2 October, 2019
Word of advice def price around with online retailers a lot of them will hook you up with a great deal on a sub. I got my QSC KW181 for only $1287 new and its a $1500 sub.
DJ Tecniq 2:52 PM - 2 October, 2019
You’ll def want a sub w/casters (wheels) so it’s easy to transport. Which is why i went with the KW181 for easy transport.
DJ Tecniq 1:29 AM - 3 October, 2019
What is your budget for a sub? That’s the main question.
hhill19 7:56 AM - 3 October, 2019
For this event I will probably rent one till I have more money to spend on my own. Willing to spend $1500or more to get a good sub.
DJ Tecniq 4:54 AM - 4 October, 2019
Quote:
For this event I will probably rent one till I have more money to spend on my own. Willing to spend $1500or more to get a good sub.
Good idea check your local music stores you can prob get one for rent for really cheap.
hhill19 4:15 PM - 5 October, 2019