Software help archive

A read-only archive of old serato.com help threads.

Serato SL2 not detected by Serato DJ even after driver reinstall

Product
Serato DJ Pro
Version
Hardware
Rane SL2
Computer
Mac
OS
Platform
-
reid.strange 4:31 AM - 22 May, 2014
Hi!

First off, I use the following gear:

Macbook Pro 2.2 GHz Intel Core i7
4GB Ram
OSX 10.9.3
Rane SL2

I have been using Serato Scratch Live for several years now, but since serato DJ 1.6.2 included the SL2 in its supported hardware, I thought I'd give it a try. However, the program doesn't recognize my SL2.

When I open Serato DJ and connect the SL2 (or vice versa) I get the "no supported hardware detected" message in the "online" tab in Serato DJ, as opposed to the message asking me to update my firmware (I've looked at some forums and seen pictures of how it's supposed to open up)

I've tried reinstalling the SL2 drivers, and get the same result.

I've noticed that my SL2 doesn't look like the one on the serato web page. I'm not sure exactly what year it was made, because I bought it used about 4 years ago, but I'm wondering if maybe it's an older model that is just plain not compatible with Serato DJ. Is this a possibility?

(The weird thing is that even in OSX's system preferences, the SL2 driver can't detect my SL2, but Scratch Live works perfectly with it.)

Thanks!
Rane, Support
Zach S 5:22 PM - 22 May, 2014
Hey reid,

Try this:

Quit all programs completely.

1. Open your Macintosh HD drive.
2. Click on your HD icon.
3. Click on 'system'.
4. Click 'library'.
5. Click 'Extentions'.
6. Delete the 'SeratoScratchDriver.kext' and/or the SeratoScratchDriver.10.6 or 10.4.kext files.

7. Delete any other Rane hardware .kext files such as SL2.kext, SL3.kext, SL4.kext, Sixty-One.Kext, Sixty-Two.kext, and Sixty-Eight.kext.

Now re install SDJ and click the 'update driver' icon on the right of the screen.

Any luck?
7:10 PM, 22 May 2014
reid.strange attached a file: Screen Shot 2014-05-22 at 2.09.15 PM.png