Software help archive

A read-only archive of old serato.com help threads.

error: failed to connect audio

Product
Serato DJ Pro
Version
Hardware
Numark Mixtrack Pro II
Computer
PC
OS
Platform
-
JCHRISFULL 7:05 PM - 27 April, 2014
I had serato dj on trial and loved it so i bought it, it was great in the beginning but i didn't connect my decks to it for a week then last Friday i tried to go on it but every time i connected my decks to serato dj and open it i get Error: Failed to connect to audio!! i don't what to do and I've only had the software for 4 weeks! i have also tried serato dj 1.6.1 and 1.6.2 and 1.5.1 and 1.5.2 but they have not worked and also my serato dj intro has the same problem I'm really annoyed about this problem as searto dj was expensive and i saved up for it as I'm a student I'd love some help as soon as possible as i was going to start DJing in may to make my money back.
Serato, Support
Rui K 1:56 AM - 29 April, 2014
Hi JCHRISFULL,

Thanks for get in touch with us.

It sounds like you may have the incorrect Windows audio setting selected.

Try following the below steps.

1. Close Serato DJ.
2. Plug in your controller directly to your computers USB port and power it on.
3. Click the Windows START button and search "SOUND".
4. Open the SOUND preference window.
5. Navigate to the PLAYBACK tab.
6. Make sure your LAPTOP/SPEAKERS are set as the DEFAULT playback device.
7. Launch Serato DJ.

Also make sure unplug all USB devices include USB hub while using Serato DJ.

PLease let me know how it go.

Kind Regards
Rui
JCHRISFULL 10:54 AM - 29 April, 2014
I have already tried this and had no luck, anything else i could try?
Serato, Support
Rui K 1:44 AM - 30 April, 2014
Try update your BIOS (serato.com) and USB host controller software. Also try connect to USB 2.0 port and see how it go.

Kind Regards
Rui
JCHRISFULL 9:06 PM - 30 April, 2014