Software help archive

A read-only archive of old serato.com help threads.

Create Crates on an external hard drive and not save music to my internal drive

Product
Scratch Live
Version
Hardware
Rane SL1
Computer
Mac
OS
Platform
-
DJ Splerge 1:35 PM - 15 January, 2014
I'm fairly new to serato (making the transition from vdj) and in the past I've always kept my music saved on external drives and kept nothing saved on my mac's internal drive. Now I want to know if I can create crates on my external drive with all my music files and when I plug it into my mac, serato will recognize the crates and not save them to my internal drive but just read it from my external drive. Does this make sense? I've searched the forum and read a few discussions but nothing really specific to this topic. If anyone can offer any insight on how to go about doing this PLEASE help me out! I want to make this transition as easy as possible! Thank you in advance!
Konix 5:24 PM - 15 January, 2014
That's how it works already, just make your crates and put the songs from the external drive in them, and the crates get saved to the external drive (in the _Serato_ folder on the root level of the external drive). Now you can plug the external drive into any computer (not just yours) and your crates will show.
DJ Splerge 5:34 PM - 15 January, 2014
Quote:
That's how it works already, just make your crates and put the songs from the external drive in them, and the crates get saved to the external drive (in the _Serato_ folder on the root level of the external drive). Now you can plug the external drive into any computer (not just yours) and your crates will show.

ok im still a little confused, i apologize. But I don't have any serato files saved on my external at all. SSL is saved to my mac obviously. How would i go about creating a serato file on my external hard drive in order to save the crates in their and have them open up in SSL when my external is plugged in?
Konix 5:42 PM - 15 January, 2014