Serato DJ Pro General Discussion

Talk about Serato DJ Pro, expansion packs and supported hardware

New Guy...VCI-300 or VCI-100 SE? Really need advice.

regero 6:25 AM - 3 October, 2008
Hello everyone, I am new to this board and to the world of Digital DJing and Controllerism. I have been researching and reading as much as I can to try and educate myself. I have no experience with DJing outside of always being asked to bring my laptop to the party. I have wanted to get into DJing 13 years ago, but didn't have the time nor the money. Now I would like to have a set up that is compact, well built, sophisticated, and will allow me to grow.

The overall feeling I am getting from reading a ton about the VCI-300 is that it maybe lacking in the effects area and itch maybe a little too simple. I just recently started reading about the VCI-100SE by Ean and I am now feeling that it is a possible choice for me.

I am looking for well thought out pro's and con's to each system and/or suggestions for someone in my particular situation. Any advice would be very much appreciated.

Thanks so much in advance!
Reg

dubside 2:35 PM - 3 October, 2008
it really depends on how you wish to DJ and what software you wish to use. i myself am happy with the vci-300 and itch, very simple to use and easy to setup. plug and play. not much settings. all i need my pc to do is play and control mp3s which is what the vci-300 and itch do nicely. i dont really use much of fx but i always hook it up to the club's mixer which has an fx module like the djm series from pioneer. its very stable and simple. it exactly emulates using 2 cdj-1000 players and a mixer. thats the vci-300.