DJing Discussion

This area is for discussion about DJing in general. Please remember the community rules when posting and try to be polite and inclusive.

Software for making mixtapes

Jason S 5:02 PM - 28 December, 2012
Hi all,

Just after some advice about DJ software. I have been making mixtapes for a couple of years now and have persisted with Audacity as it is free (!) and is fairly straightforward. However, I have recently upgraded to a new Macbook Pro and would like to start learning and using something new. I do not need something to record Midi or create beats but simply to add samples and loops to mixes recorded using my NS7 (ie 'live' mixing). I need something with an ability to auto match BPM and preferably equal sound volume across all tracks.

Any suggestions??
AKIEM 5:13 PM - 28 December, 2012
I use Digital Performer, but it's not free.
Dj-M.Bezzle 6:10 PM - 28 December, 2012
Quote:
Hi all,

Just after some advice about DJ software. I have been making mixtapes for a couple of years now and have persisted with Audacity as it is free (!) and is fairly straightforward. However, I have recently upgraded to a new Macbook Pro and would like to start learning and using something new. I do not need something to record Midi or create beats but simply to add samples and loops to mixes recorded using my NS7 (ie 'live' mixing). I need something with an ability to auto match BPM and preferably equal sound volume across all tracks.

Any suggestions??

Hire a dj
djcrap 6:58 PM - 28 December, 2012
every macbook comes with garageband
Dj JesC 9:18 PM - 28 December, 2012
mixmeister.
DJ Matty Stiles 9:56 PM - 28 December, 2012
rane mixer + bridge = ableton mixtape. Win.
DJ Matty Stiles 10:01 PM - 28 December, 2012
Quote:
mixmeister

VERY jittery with OSX Lion. I emailed them if there was gonna be a fix but they said there were no plans yet :(
Dj JesC 3:26 AM - 29 December, 2012
Quote:
Quote:
mixmeister