Software help archive

A read-only archive of old serato.com help threads.

Using Scratch Amp with Ableton

Product
Scratch Live
Version
-
Hardware
Ortofon | Serato S-120
Computer
-
OS
Platform
-
Simon Stokes 4:33 PM - 11 February, 2008
Hi guys,

I have been DJing for many many years but I am wanting to get into using Serato. I have just purchased a laptop, but I am primarily using that to play live in clubs. I will be running several synths into a mixer, then the mixer into my laptop and Ableton, then the output of Ableton back out to the club's PA.

I am a bit confused as to whether the Scratch Amp can double as the audio interface I need to run the output of my mixer into the laptop and through Ableton.

Could you confirm if this is possible, or will I have to get a seperate audio interface (any suggestions for these?).

Thanks a lot, I'm hoping you are going to tell me I can use the scratch amp for this so it gives me an excuse to buy it and hopefully will result in less grief from my other half! :)

Cheers,

Simon
Logisticalstyles 5:03 PM - 11 February, 2008
I don't think that would work. The SL1 isn't really an amp. Maybe it could work if you had a 57. I'm just guessing about the 57 as I don't have one.
Konix 5:14 PM - 11 February, 2008
The SL1 does have ASIO drivers to be used as a "normal" soundcard in Ableton or other programs (but no CoreAudio for Macs), but it cannot be used as an ASIO soundcard and as SSL's soundcard at the same time. And to be honest, the ASIO drivers aren't that great and you'd be better off with another external soundcard for Ableton.
Simon Stokes 5:49 PM - 11 February, 2008
Thanks for the responses. Is anybody else using the SL1 as their sound card with Ableton? Even if they ASIO drivers aren't perfect I would much rather buy this alone rather than a sound card and not be able to afford SSL as well. :)