DJing Discussion

This area is for discussion about DJing in general. Please remember the community rules when posting and try to be polite and inclusive.

Scratching

djneedhelp 2:07 AM - 4 April, 2012
Hi I have been a pro Dj for ten years now and I have always wanted to get into scratching more but don't really know where to start. Any tips , pointers or ideas ? Also I was told by a friend that there is a DVD + vynil combo package that shows u what to do on the DVD and u use vynil provided and follow the routine but they couldn't remember what it was called :( please help thanks
Capo Status 2:43 AM - 4 April, 2012
check out DJ angelo tutorials on youtube, he has about 15 videos, start there, asian looking dude
str8nger 7:19 PM - 4 April, 2012
That's the hardest part of djing
Nicky Blunt 7:57 PM - 4 April, 2012
My suggestion would be to learn from the best.

DJ Q-Bert DIY Scratching Vol.01 is a very comprehensive guide as to how to break down the cuts so you understand not only the sounds but the mechanics of how to make them sounds too.

Very good for beginners, But you will need to add your own flavour to it or risk sounding like every other person who bought the video.

Its a great place to start tho.
djneedhelp 5:06 PM - 12 April, 2012
FighteRanger 6:16 PM - 12 April, 2012
My best advice is to practice, practice, practice. Dj at least 20 mins a day, just scratching. You will get better, but looking at other djs on youtube can be good to :)
dj-freestyle 6:34 PM - 12 April, 2012
Ive been djing for 20 plus and lately needed something to keep me practing again so ive been doing it like 30 minutes or a hour everyday and it gets better trust me. it sthe hardest part. i can blend with my eyes close and scratch a little but i want to be good not average so just keep practing.
Robert W 7:25 PM - 12 April, 2012
Quote:
check out DJ angelo tutorials on youtube, he has about 15 videos, start there, asian looking dude

+1000000000