DJing Discussion

This area is for discussion about DJing in general. Please remember the community rules when posting and try to be polite and inclusive.

Best slipmats

aslcharger08 5:00 PM - 11 March, 2012
I am looking for a new pair of slipmats the ones I have are old and the original technics 1200 mats with the dude scratching on it. I tried the paper trick under the slip mat and it helped but it still causes a lot of friction and catches the vinyl. It actually sticks so bad sometimes when I pull the vinyl off the slipmat comes right with it and you can feel the static.

What 12" slipmats do you guys recommend?
DJ ST 5:14 PM - 11 March, 2012
I've been using DJ Swamp-"Ouija"-Sicmats for about 4 years, they seem very nice, alhough a bit dusty and the print is kinda faded.

Probably will buy a pair of Dr. Suzuki-slipmats, either the Mix- or Scratch-versions.
There has been a lot of positive reviews of both versions.
They're not THAT expensive (35$/pair?), considering that they'll last and are a good buy.

That's my two cents.
housekeys 7:11 PM - 11 March, 2012
I have a pair of Dr. Suzuki's, I'd recommend getting those, they're the best one's I've used by far. Definitely worth the price.
L2daGee 7:30 PM - 11 March, 2012
Butter Rugs
aslcharger08 3:10 AM - 12 March, 2012
Cool thanks for the info all I saw was 100% reviews for everything so it was hard to tell what works and what doesn't.
DJ Tecniq 8:20 PM - 12 March, 2012
thin ice or black ice slipmats...game over!
DJWALDO 9:14 PM - 12 March, 2012
Quote:
thin ice or black ice slipmats...game over!

black ice all day....
Musically Minded 9:21 PM - 12 March, 2012
Quote:
Butter Rugs

+1
DJNickSaunders 9:34 PM - 12 March, 2012
Quote:
Quote:
Butter Rugs

+1

+1
rickyj 4:54 AM - 19 March, 2012
butter rugs!!
Rane, Support
Chad S. 7:57 PM - 19 March, 2012
Slicker is better than sticky on the platter in your opinions?

How much SHOULD a good pair of slipmats cost?
DJ Remy USA 8:02 PM - 19 March, 2012
Wax paper = super cheap