DJing Discussion

This area is for discussion about DJing in general. Please remember the community rules when posting and try to be polite and inclusive.

Rane 62: Master output LED display

djtrackie 3:53 AM - 1 March, 2012
I just got the Rane 62, and it's great except for one thing im confused about.

Even when I have my master output, session output, boot out all set to ZERO, the master LEDs are still showing a FULL signal bar.... shouldn't the Master LED show the strength of the signal coming out of the mixer?

Only lowering the faders change the master signal LED, but the master/booth/session out knobs do nothing.
DJ Barticus 7:36 AM - 1 March, 2012
i like it this way. you should set your master out so when it goes in the red, whatever you are plugged into starts to go into the red and leave it. use your other outputs for monitor or subs and adjust to taste.

the master out LED display is perfect for when recording your mixes
s3kn0tr0n1c 8:29 AM - 1 March, 2012
Quote:
I just got the Rane 62, and it's great except for one thing im confused about.

Even when I have my master output, session output, boot out all set to ZERO, the master LEDs are still showing a FULL signal bar.... shouldn't the Master LED show the strength of the signal coming out of the mixer?

Only lowering the faders change the master signal LED, but the master/booth/session out knobs do nothing.

Thats how rane mixers work.

The output gains(booth, session main) ONLY attenuate the signal. If you want full level output these must be a max position.

This works great as you always get a good level on the meter even if you have to turn master down for a little. This also allows you to do recordings(main mix) within SL with master knob having no effect.

This is an excellent design.
Dj 2 Cool C 6:57 PM - 5 March, 2012