Software help archive

A read-only archive of old serato.com help threads.

IN NEED OF HELP..

Product
Ortofon | Serato S-120
Version
-
Hardware
Ortofon | Serato S-120
Computer
-
OS
Platform
-
Geo500 2:58 AM - 25 October, 2011
I just bought a new setup:
Rane TTM57SL mixer
Stanton STR8.150 x2

I have no idea how to set my equipment.. i downloaded the newly Serato software update, I got everything up and running but when i hook up my turntables to the mixer i receive no sound just a humming noise.. the humming noise is usually from the ground connection but my turntables do not require it. I'm using the vinyls that came with the mixer is that a problem?? and i also didn't connect my speakers is that a problem also, wouldn't it play threw my laptop instead?? please help.. this is my first time using vinyls and turntables.

(PS I HAVE NO IDEA WHERE TO CONNECT MY WIRES)
3:11 AM, 25 Oct 2011
Discussion moved to Scratch Live Help
Geo500 3:25 AM - 25 October, 2011
cmon can anyone help me..
DJ Dub Cowboy 3:53 AM - 25 October, 2011
there are pictures of where the wires go in the manual. the sound will not come out of your computer, you need speakers or at least headphones.

is the humming noise the sound of the control vinyl?
if so, then switch the input selector to D1 or D2 to hear the virtual deck

also make sure that your input dip switches on the back of the mixer are set to phono as opposed to line.

if you are in input 1 and 3, try 2 and 4
there is a setting in the setup page of scratch live to decide which inputs will receive the control signal.

I recommend reading the manual twice from front to back. Even if you think you know something there is always more to learn.
WarpNote 7:19 AM - 25 October, 2011
Geo500, you also might wanna have a look at this video > serato.com