Software help archive

A read-only archive of old serato.com help threads.

My Vista Disaster! Please help...

Product
Scratch Live
Version
-
Hardware
Ortofon | Serato S-120
Computer
-
OS
Platform
-
DJ Zuz 5:52 AM - 22 September, 2007
This is my first time posting. I've been using Searto for over a year on a XP Pro Platform. Last week I formatted my machine and installed Vista Ulitmate. I did all the tweaks and fixes I could find and installed the lastest 1.74 RC 2 and 1.72 full release.

I opened 1.74 rc2 and all my overviews had been built (I Run my mp3s off an external HD). In over a year of using serato on XP pro I've never had one crash or dropout.

I start my gig last night and while mixing in my 2nd song 1.74rc2 totally froze up. For the first time I saw the word USB with a red circle to the left of it display at the top of the serato window. I can only assume this would be what people call "usb dropout"

I closed 1.74rc2 and launched old trust 1.72. This seemed to respond better...However, about 15 songs in while mixing the word USB and red circle started showing up again and the audio started to skip a bit. I quickly switched the song playing to INT mode and was able to mix without any crashes or problems.

I have a IBM Thinkpad T42p with duo centrino processor 2gb of ram and 100gb HD. I'm using a western digital passport 250gb external HD. My ram and processor usage is very low before opening serato. What am I doing wrong here?

Any suggestions? Can anyone tell me the best settings for Serato running on Vista. Please help me out guys!

Thanks!

DJ Zuz
DrStank 11:48 AM - 22 September, 2007
I think your computer is having a conflict with Ted Challenger. I would delete anything with the name Ted Challenger, China Blue or Dirty Little Roddy's in your computer and reformat.
DJ Zuz 3:16 PM - 22 September, 2007