DJing Discussion

This area is for discussion about DJing in general. Please remember the community rules when posting and try to be polite and inclusive.

I can't get a first gig - Where to go? What to do? =(

SJR 11:28 PM - 22 February, 2011
I've been DJing for 3 years privately, have industry standard gear, and have an EPK (5-7 current mixes (they're good - hit a lot of genres - indie dance, top 40 remix, open format, track lists, DJ flyer cards, etc)...

I've been going to some places w/o a response...

Am I supposed to go to "lower-tier" places?
Keep hammering the current "more popular locations?

Hardware: new MBP i7 2.66, 8gb RAM, SSL, TTM57SL, 1200MK2s, M447s, Butter Rugs, etc etc
djpuma_gemini 11:30 PM - 22 February, 2011
network with other dj's in your area.

Introduce yourself to them
Dj-M.Bezzle 11:31 PM - 22 February, 2011
Quote:

+1, the answers simple TALK TO PEOPLE, just just badger for a position
SJR 11:32 PM - 22 February, 2011
Quote:

Agreed - What am I supposed to ask? "hey heard of any new gigs available out there?

I wouldn't wanna sound like I'm trying to jack their weekly spot.
sacrilicious 11:33 PM - 22 February, 2011
Quote:
I've been DJing for 3 years privately, have industry standard gear, and have an EPK (5-7 current mixes (they're good - hit a lot of genres - indie dance, top 40 remix, open format, track lists, DJ flyer cards, etc)...

I've been going to some places w/o a response...

Am I supposed to go to "lower-tier" places?
Keep hammering the current "more popular locations?

Hardware: new MBP i7 2.66, 8gb RAM, SSL, TTM57SL, 1200MK2s, M447s, Butter Rugs, etc etc

Equipment doesn't warrant a gig. You need to "pay your dues" with the circuit of smaller bars and clubs and house parties. Also network with other DJs and try to get an opening slot for them.
The Return of Dj Sparky 11:37 PM - 22 February, 2011