DJing Discussion

This area is for discussion about DJing in general. Please remember the community rules when posting and try to be polite and inclusive.

Switching to CDJ's from TT's... any thoughts?

suave.dj 7:54 AM - 30 April, 2007
Hi everyone, I've been using my Tech 1200's MK2's for about 2 years now, and have been playing out with SSL for a year and a bit. I fly around alot to different gigs and I sometimes carry my tables and mixer in my DJ coffin, but its super heavy and I have to pay extra to get it on the flight.

I have been considering switching to CDJ's to save on the hassle of carrying heavy gear around. I do like the feel of vinyl and have only used CDJ's a few times in the past at clubs. Any advice or suggestions would be great.

I've been looking at the Technics SL-DZ 1200, the Pioneer CDJ-1000 MK3 (and MK2: any advice on which one is better?) and Denon DN-S5000.

I play mostly top 40, dance, house, electro, and just getting into some scratching.

Thanks in advance!
Nicky Blunt 9:47 AM - 30 April, 2007
numark cdx the only way forward with cdj's, they have a spinning 12" platter but dude stay with the 1200's you cant beat vinyl when scratchin!

I have the cdx myself they are great but I still use my 12's a whole lot more! My cdx's are back in their boxes & have been since xmas!
Mr. Wright 12:04 PM - 30 April, 2007
play with CDX's all the time at work. Fun but too expensive and too unreliable for everyday and gig use. THey are fun but for cheaper my 1200 MKII's kick there ass. It is nice though to be able to scratch fast as you possibly can and never have the needle skip
latindj 4:28 PM - 30 April, 2007