DJing Discussion

This area is for discussion about DJing in general. Please remember the community rules when posting and try to be polite and inclusive.

is a macbook pro better for serato?

dj thumps 6:36 AM - 10 April, 2010
Product: scratchlive
Version: 1.9.2
Hardware: scratchlive-sl3
Computer: pc
OS Version: vista32
---

i currently use an hp pc with my sl3, a friend is going to sell me a new 15" mac book pro. will the mac book pro work better with my serato and denon hc-1000s midi controller? will there be any difference in performance with the serato?
Ceejay 10:32 AM - 10 April, 2010
Ive been using a laptop PC for the past 4 years and have never had a problem,
I use my laptop to run serato and nothing else. To be honest with you,
Im sick and tired of other djs always asking me why I dont use a mac ? Why should I ?
Ive recently bought a new Vaio Pc laptop running win 7, again no problems.
To each his own, Im fine with PC and I aint changing !
jajoja 10:32 AM - 10 April, 2010
YES.
LJ_WOOLSEY 12:22 PM - 10 April, 2010
NO.

-----------> www.serato.com

I Was going toget a new macbook pro but after reading this and many other posts a stayed away. UNIT apple fix the problem then i will buy one.

if you buy a pre unibody mac they work really well. so if you can find one of them YES.
VJ Justin Allen 12:45 PM - 10 April, 2010
Yes it is, depending on the specs of the 15" mac you are getting. But you really should do a search as this topic has been covered many, many times before.

And this thread should be moved to the discussion section.
DJANGENYC 4:52 PM - 10 April, 2010
I have been using Window Laptops with no issue. Currently I running 2.0 on a Dell Studio XPS 1320 with a p8700 chip with Windows 7 64 and it runs great.
I don't trust Apple because they are constantly changing their OS with no regards to anyone. I learned that in the past and that is why I stay with Winodws.
Djsilencer2k5 7:32 AM - 11 April, 2010