DJing Discussion

This area is for discussion about DJing in general. Please remember the community rules when posting and try to be polite and inclusive.

Pauly D positerism

Dj-M.Bezzle 4:36 PM - 26 January, 2010
Ok since it is "haterism" to say a unskilled person is unskilled i figured id take the example set in a different thread and use it to better the game. Instead of just sayin this guy sucks lwts use it as a teachning experience to make sure the next gen dosent follow in the same traps

heres a quote from another thread

www.scratchlive.net

Quote:
speakin of pauly d,
watch him kill (the vibe) at jet here
Watchwww.youtube.com Watchwww.youtube.com

im by no means a pro and though his scratching may be a bit more on point than mine could you even really call that a mix?? Not hatin on him but as a learning experience im trying to pinpoint the mistakes...1st off he let put a ring on it on a loop go on for waaaaayyyy to long, 2nd was anything beat matched? 3rd wasnt that REALLY off key transition, 4th is it just me or were his levels TOTALLY wrong making the transition sound THAT much worse, 5th, didnt he "scratch" in way off beat dropping vocals over vocals?.........am i in the ballpark here, did i miss anything or misevaluate anything??
Dj-M.Bezzle 4:37 PM - 26 January, 2010
oh and if anyone has any other vids (not just DJ PAULLY D!!!! vids but any) that you can use to point out exactly what was done wrong and how to improve go ahead and drop em in here, i feel like i could learn from the mistakes of others!!
DJ Benny B NYC 4:59 PM - 26 January, 2010
he is not a great dj - this has been established. he just doesn't really do anything that well and his scratching (imo) is worse than average and TOTALLY unnecessary.

that being said, he is not the worst dj I've seen. i'd say he's a little below average. just last weekend i went to a bunch of places in brooklyn and 2 of the djs i saw were far worse than him.