DJing Discussion

This area is for discussion about DJing in general. Please remember the community rules when posting and try to be polite and inclusive.

Newbie Mobile DJ

DJ Rodney Lee 4:17 PM - 5 November, 2018
SO, I'm just getting started as a mobile DJ (weddings/receptions, birthday parties, etc..). I did have the opportunity to be mentored by a well respected DJ in the area, who is very busy, and in demand for a couple of years. I saved up my money, bought a basic system, and started doing events on my own.

Now, I've done about 6 events myself total. Great interactions with clients, guests, professional attire, professional set up, vast music catalog, some basic playlists but try to read the crowd... that's where things go wrong.

For me, I feel like I'm good with music, but I have a hard time reading others about the music I'm playing, or more importantly - what to play next. I've read a lot of blogs about "do this, don't do that, how to read, what to look for, etc..." - but honestly, either I'm getting stage fright, or lack of confidence in myself or something.

I'll be playing the typical slide, cha cha, blah blah blah, but when I mix in some current songs, or even 'traditional party top 200 requested songs' - I get mixed results.

Now I should say the past 2 events, started well, but faded fast, and they were both Sunday mid-afternoon weddings. I've heard from colleagues "that is sometimes typical", and "don't take it personally" - but for me that's hard.

I'd appreciate constructive opinions, help, or guidance.
577er 4:53 PM - 5 November, 2018
Ugh 6 events... is that ever or just as a wedding DJ? Either way it takes a lot of time to figure it out. Weddings kick non wedding DJ’s asses, that’s a know fact. It’s a legit skill that has to be crafted. This is why I always tell people to not over charge for their services at first.

When you say mentored by a DJ what does that mean? Did you go to lots of weddings with him?