DJing Discussion

This area is for discussion about DJing in general. Please remember the community rules when posting and try to be polite and inclusive.

Smart Sync With CDJ's

DaveVerne 3:34 PM - 23 February, 2017
What's the deal with the sync on Serato DJ. Does it only work with controller ? I use two cdj 800-5K's. When I try and use sync it never works right, or it just doesn't sync. With tractor there's is a sync option where it litterally syncs perfectly for recording a mix etc - same with virtual Dj. Before people start saying about the art of dj'ing and beat matching etc, I have been djing for 15 years now, started on belt drive decks on to technics I can beat match and know how to mix, I would sometimes prefer to click sync to speed up process especially when I am recording a mix
DJ Skitz (USA) 3:52 PM - 23 February, 2017
Gee, someone sounds a little defensive.

If Traktor and VDJ work perfectly for you why don't you stick with them?

Are your tracks analyzed and beat grided properly. Are you pressing sync on all decks that you want to sync(first deck that you engage sync will be the "master"). Do you have "snap to beatgrid" enabled in the set up menu.

Are you expecting the behaviors of smart sync for DVS? It's not available yet in a full release. That's coming in 1.9.6.
AKIEM 12:49 AM - 24 February, 2017
Yeah, but about the art of DJing, beat matching, and etc.
DaveVerne 10:44 PM - 24 February, 2017
Quote:
Gee, someone sounds a little defensive.

If Traktor and VDJ work perfectly for you why don't you stick with them?

Are your tracks analyzed and beat grided properly. Are you pressing sync on all decks that you want to sync(first deck that you engage sync will be the "master"). Do you have "snap to beatgrid" enabled in the set up menu.

Are you expecting the behaviors of smart sync for DVS? It's not available yet in a full release. That's coming in 1.9.6.

Not defensive just letting man know before ppl start saying this and that about learning to mix.