DJing Discussion

This area is for discussion about DJing in general. Please remember the community rules when posting and try to be polite and inclusive.

Running an EV sub with 2 EV tops

Rock with D-Bock 8:45 PM - 8 February, 2017
Hi all, new poster here! I've been using 2 15 inch main speakers for most of my karaoke/band applications and just recently decided to get a new system consisting of a sub and 2 smaller tops. After a lot of research and thinking about what I am going to use them for, I decided on 2 EV ZXA1 speakers and 1 EV EKX 15SP sub. I am new to using a sub with mains--I know how to go from mixer to sub to tops as far as connections, but here is where I am a little confused.

The sub has a crossover that defaults at a low-pass of 100HZ, which I assume means passing thru 100 HZ and up. The ZXA1s have a switch for "full range" or "with sub", and if the "with sub" is on, then those speakers enact a crossover that has a high pass of 100 HZ to use with a sub. I assume that would be for sending a signal from the ZXA1 to a sub, but not sure...

So, if I am already using the crossover from the sub, should I just leave the ZXA1s in full range mode since they are only going to get the 100 HZ and higher frequencies? Or do I need to enact the crossover on those too?

Appreciate any help you can offer--I just want them to sound the best! Thanks!
dj_soo 11:51 PM - 8 February, 2017
Ev subs do not have a high pass through. The 100hz on the sub just low passes the sub - you will still have to high pass your tops.
577er 12:30 AM - 9 February, 2017