DJing Discussion

This area is for discussion about DJing in general. Please remember the community rules when posting and try to be polite and inclusive.

Pairing PAs with subs - 10"s vs 12"s

Rizzm 7:19 PM - 1 February, 2017
I'll try to make this quick. I'm a beginner making an entry level system for basement parties and small events. I just picked up some used Behringer VQ1800Ds (18", 500w). I can get a solid deal on either JBL EON610s or EON612s to use as tops.

I can't decide whether I'd want 10s or 12s. I know the 12s will sound fuller if I just want to use them alone without hauling the subs around, but as far as I know, the 10s will have a better dispersion and also better "speed" and clarity.

Can anyone sell me on either one of the pair? Thanks.
577er 10:02 PM - 1 February, 2017
Um the "speed" / clarity thing is nonsense, both of these speakers are crappy so the 12 is the way to go. You'll need the extra volume even in little basement parties, dispersion be dammed.
DJ Reflex 11:11 PM - 1 February, 2017
I think the "speed" from the 10" speaker is referring to Transient Response. While this is true to some extent (small speakers will move back and forth faster than larger ones given the same magnet size and voice coil : there will also be less flexing of cone material), I doubt that any one's ears will notice a difference.

I do agree with 577er about dispersion too. You'll only need wider dispersion from your horns in wider rooms and open areas. If you're doing parties in smaller basements, the speakers will probably be aimed directly at the audience anyway.
Rizzm 12:16 AM - 2 February, 2017
Despite how "crappy" either of them are, these are my options at the moment. So then the 12s would be the better option for volume's sake? As a further example of the reasoning, if volume is the determining factor here, then 15s would be a better match with entry level 18" subs?