DJing Discussion

This area is for discussion about DJing in general. Please remember the community rules when posting and try to be polite and inclusive.

TRAKTOR?

AKIEM 10:49 PM - 25 January, 2017
Ive been using serato since 2004 and never really tried any other software.

I just got a Traktor Audio A10.

Traktor users, any thing to be weary of? Pitfalls, difficulties coming from SSL/SDJ ?
(all jokes welcome)

13"Macbook Pro, mid2012, os10.11
DJ BroMoney 3:40 PM - 26 January, 2017
Traktor is a great piece of kit and its my main setup unless I'm fooling around on my friends Serato setups. Some things I've noticed about the transition:

1) Traktor runs best on OSX Sierra, as users have reported issues from Mavericks all the way to El Capitan.
2) Traktor doesn't save information in the metadata of a music file, but rather its own database. This makes things semi redundant if your recordpool already analyzes and codes in the metadata because Traktor will write its own values.
3) You can analyze tracks real time in Traktor and you do not need to do all your analysis ahead of time.
4) Traktor beatgrids and BPM detection are usually really tight, with the exception of tempo drift and change in BPM, as the beatgrids aren't flexible.
5) Traktor's browser is pretty out of date. I've learned to live with it but you lose a lot of the flexibility that Serato has with smart crates and dual sorting. Using iTunes mitigates this somewhat.
6) Lack of parallel waveforms is huge. Especially if you're beatgrids aren't set properly it really forces you to use your ears. This might not be an issue for some (like it isn't an issue for me) but if you rely heavily on matching waveforms to mix then you're going to have a really hard time.