Serato DJ Pro General Discussion

Talk about Serato DJ Pro, expansion packs and supported hardware

FIX FOR DDJ-SB [and others] CONTROLLER NOT WORKING ON OSX El Capitan 11.3.x+

HMSCelestia 7:39 PM - 18 February, 2016
[Skip to bottom for solution if you're not interested in background info]
So, I'm going to try to avoid making this too technical, so I'll start at with some background.

I'm currently a student in university studying Electrical Engineering and moonlighting as a software developer on research programs. As such, I'm often required to be in the beta programs for different pieces of software, on of which is OSX itself. [Current patch: 10.11.4 Beta (15E39d)]

I hadn't gotten the chance to dig out my controller for months because of work, but when I finally could, I found it didnt work.

After trying the regular troubleshooting steps (different USB cables, uninstalling Serato and reinstalling it, checking the Audio MIDI Devices page, installing Serato on a clean install of OSX, etc), I finally broke down and contacted Serato's support team. After going through many of the steps I'd already half tried, I was told that the issue may have something to do with how the operating system is parsing -reading in from hardware- the name of the DJ mixer itself, which is why when I would connect it Serato would begin picking it up and then suddenly drop it with a "failed to connect audio" error at the bottom.

It wasn't until the CS rep was able to talk with the program developers themselves that this revealed itself. And it only took navigating to the Audio Devices page in Audio MIDI Setup to confirm this. Where the name of the controller should have been "PIONEER DDJ-SB" it was instead listed as "PIONEER DDJ_SB". This underscore is what was disallowing communication between Serato and the Controller itself.