DJing Discussion

This area is for discussion about DJing in general. Please remember the community rules when posting and try to be polite and inclusive.

Vestax vci 380 vs Terminal Mix 8

JonnyBoy69 12:32 PM - 5 September, 2015
Help I'm torn between 2 great controllers. I've lusted after a 380 for ages now. I want to upgrade from my old Hercules toy to something I can scratch on (please no - then you need a turntable conversations - Cant afford and not practicle at home so its gotta be controller based so I want the best controller to scratch with).
I love the platter LEDS and upgradable crossfader and the easy head phone only listening on the vci (not always able to link it to my sound system).
Im worried about the lack of software support and that after 1 years warrenty runs out that's it. Also not keen on 2 decks. Id like 2 for mixing and one with a separate bank of samples to just drop scratches on as I go so it doesn't slow mixing down (I'm still a noob, would like to set the mix up, then play around with scratches and then drop in the other track).
On the terminal mix the platters and meant to be amazing too though - Are they as good as the vci???
BUT, no upgradable crossfader (as I get better I might need this). Just how good is the one on it.

Any input would be greatly received guys.

Thanks
DJ Nin 6:01 PM - 9 September, 2015
I own both controllers. Here’s my opinion for what it’s worth…

First off, I'm by no means a turntabilist but I can cut better on the VCI than I can on the Reloop.

Both have great jogwheels. TM 8 jogs are bigger, but there is no tension adjustment. VCI jogs have the tension adjustment & the indicator on them. I prefer the VCI’s jogs slightly over the TM 8 mainly due to the tension adjustment.

Line faders on TM 8 aren't adjustable on the VCI 380 they are.

IMO stock crossfader on the VCI is better than the TM 8.

Pads on the VCI have a better feel to them, but TM 8’s are color coordinated w/ the cue points.