DJing Discussion

This area is for discussion about DJing in general. Please remember the community rules when posting and try to be polite and inclusive.

128kbps vs. 320kbps sound quality

cyclone2567 4:53 AM - 29 March, 2014
so im new to djing for parties and i was wondering if there is a noticeable difference between songs at 128kbps than 320kbps. Alot of my library is 128kbps, will playing it on a PA system make the lower quality more noticeable? Any tips?
DylanVE 4:59 AM - 29 March, 2014
320kb is the minimum you should be using, 128kb is blasphemy.
dj_soo 5:08 AM - 29 March, 2014
Don't play 128
Code:E 5:31 AM - 29 March, 2014
how is this stilla question in this day and age... I mean I know how, but yes Cyclone NEVER play anything but 320 or better.
dj_soo 6:40 AM - 29 March, 2014
We'll, 256 AAC is fine IMO but that's AAC - not mp3
Code:E 9:30 AM - 29 March, 2014
Quote:
We'll, 256 AAC is fine IMO but that's AAC - not mp3

Always good to qualify our answers. :)
DJ GaFFle 1:05 PM - 29 March, 2014
Yes, Try To Make 320K Your Minimum Or 256+ AAC.
Al Poulin 1:54 PM - 29 March, 2014
Most of my music is at 320, but some is at 256kbps. The difference is minimal, but most of my MP3 files are transferred from store bought CDs. You can definitely hear the difference when you go down to 128. Mostly in the high frequencies that get all wishy washy. I can't stand that ultra compressed sound personally, BUT for a new DJ playing through some Mr. DJ of Pyle Pro speakers, the difference won't be as noticeable as it will sound like crap either way. Simply slightly different flavors of crap. :-) If you're using good quality speakers OTOH, the lower bitrate tracks will be even more obvious.

Al
DJ Art Pumpin Payne 2:51 PM - 29 March, 2014
The fun part is the years of digital digging and CD/Vinyl ripping to replace all those low quality 128s...

Get busy - times a wasting!!!
Robbie O 2:59 PM - 29 March, 2014
Quote: