DJing Discussion

This area is for discussion about DJing in general. Please remember the community rules when posting and try to be polite and inclusive.

Recommend me some speakers please! EV, JBL, YAMAHA, QSC?!

Binhzino 2:28 PM - 15 March, 2014
I've been djing for a couple of years, but mostly in clubs and bars. I never really pay attention to the speakers those venues have or cared.. so I'm pretty "new" to the PA Live Sound game. Forgive me if I don't have a clue.

Anyways, I've been doing weddings for the past year now (pays way more than clubs/bars) and I always borrow my friend's QSC K12's, but I think it's about time to purchase my own. Usually I use 3-4 K12's (one as a monitor) on stands with no subwoofer at weddings for about 400-700 people. No complaints so far. I've looked at the prices for the QSC's and damn are they expensive. Someone told me the EV ZLX12P's are comparable and a lot cheaper. What do you guys think? I just want something inexpensive for now then step it up later.

Also, should I just purchase 15's instead of 12's? Was going to go with two 15's and one 12 or four 12's like how I've been doing with the QSC's. Planning on buying subs in the near future, but I need speakers first! Any input would be greatly appreciated - thanks!
lvmez 2:59 PM - 15 March, 2014
Look in the Yamaha DRX15's. 2 of these can handle a decent size crowd.
JDforKing 3:29 PM - 15 March, 2014
i have no idea how you've been able to dj a 400 to 700 persons wedding with a pair of k12s.
Binhzino 3:31 PM - 15 March, 2014
Quote:
i have no idea how you've been able to dj a 400 to 700 persons wedding with a pair of k12s.

3 for around 300-400
4 for larger
Joee 4:13 PM - 15 March, 2014
Quote:

+1 on this

how much money are you looking to spend on a pair of speakers?
Binhzino 4:16 PM - 15 March, 2014
Quote:
Quote:

+1 on this

Around $1000-1200 for a pair. Best bang for the buck would be ideal in my situation.
Binhzino 4:54 PM - 15 March, 2014
Quote:
Quote:

+1 on this