Serato Software Feature Suggestions

What features would you like to see in Serato software?

Smart sync for SL2 to Sl4

Cvm 4:18 PM - 6 February, 2014
Serato Dj should allow SL 3 users to be able to use smart sync. I noticed it was grayed out and only simple sync was available.

Will Serato Dj allow SL2-4 users to have smart sync as an option soon?
Serato, Forum Moderator
Logan D 10:33 PM - 6 February, 2014
Hey Cvm,

Yeah this is something we'd like to provide in an update.

What exactly do you want to achieve with Smart Sync that you can't do now? Is it just Sample Player Syncing? Or do you like the workflow of Smart Sync better?
Cvm 10:44 PM - 6 February, 2014
Logan,

I been a Dj for many years. I am new to sync. However, I noticed that with SL 3 I been using timecode vinyl sync behaved differently .

I analyzed my mp3s and Got the beat grids . I would then sync deck 1 with deck 2. Mind you, I am playing standard house percussion which has simple beat pattern.

I noticed with simple sync , after 4 bars into the blend , deck 1 and 2 fall off beat, out of sync. My understanding using "smart sync" , the two songs will not fall off beat assuming that the beat grids are accurate.

Yes, precisely what you said. I would like to use 4 bar samples in the sampler to sync with my decks 1 and 2. This would only add the creativity and frankly , fun of using Serato. :-)

When I upgraded from scratch to Sdj , I assumed sync would've been standard, smart sync that is.
Serato, Forum Moderator
Logan D 10:55 PM - 6 February, 2014
What you are experiencing is just the wow/flutter of the turntable. Serato DJ will 'sync' the tracks as a one-off action, so that the BPMs are the same, but after that they may gradually slip out due to one turntable being ever so slightly faster/slower. This does not happen with CDJs/controllers or using INT mode.