Software help archive

A read-only archive of old serato.com help threads.

Serato crashes when I want to import my music

Product
Serato DJ Pro
Version
Hardware
Pioneer DJ DDJ-SX
Computer
PC
OS
Platform
-
JannikH 8:32 AM - 8 November, 2013
I bought a DDJ-SX and I am new to Serato. I want to add all my Tracks (83GB) to the Serato Libary but when I do so, Serato chrashes when "Reading Tags" or something.

My Notebook is a sony Vaio, 8GB Ram, Core i5 2.5 GHZ

What is the problem? I need to fix it today, because I want to use it in the Evening ;)
Serato, Support
David Wood 3:53 AM - 11 November, 2013
Hey JannikH,

Thanks for getting in touch,

Before I can start the troubleshooting process I need to gather some further information,

1. Can you send me your FULL computer specs?
-- RIGHT-Click your MY COMPUTER icon and select PROPERTIES
-- Copy this information back to me please.

2. How big is your internal hard drive?
-- How much free space do you have on it?

3. Are you using any external hard drives to organise your music?
-- How big is the drive?
-- How much free space is on the drive?
-- Is the drive just used for music files?

4. Are you using any other USB devices?
-- Any wireless mouses / keyboards?

5. You may have corrupt files within the Database, please follow this guide to help you. It's written for Scratch Live but is the same process for Serato DJ: serato.com

Regards

Dave W
JannikH 1:28 PM - 11 November, 2013
Hey Dave!

Computer Specs:

CPU: Intel Core i5 @ 2.5 GHZ
Ram: 8,00GB
System: Windows 7 64Bit

Hard Drive: 1000GB / 500GB Free Space
All Music is stored in C:/Music

There is just the DDJ SX and an USB-Mouse connected.

I can't find the Corrupt Files because Serato Freezes in the Analysing-Process, too.

Regards

Jannik
Serato, Support
David Wood 8:49 PM - 11 November, 2013
You may have corrupt files within the Database, please follow this guide to help you. It's written for Scratch Live but is the same process for Serato DJ: serato.com