DJing Discussion

This area is for discussion about DJing in general. Please remember the community rules when posting and try to be polite and inclusive.

Electro Voice Elx115 p or Cerwin Vega P1500x

djMcClaren 11:51 PM - 23 August, 2013
I would like to know which one of these speakers to buy for Djing. I'm a beginner, and would like to make one good purchase that would last for a long period of time.
the_black_one 12:12 AM - 24 August, 2013
whats your budget? what events do you need sound for? will you be buying a sub? is weight an issue?
the_black_one 12:20 AM - 24 August, 2013
just quick answer .... i'm an EV guy and them EV's sound darn good..

NM NH
DJ GaFFle 1:41 AM - 24 August, 2013
Here's that CV against the JBL PRX615. Good for Cerwin Vega for ridding themselves of those gawdy red speaker surrounds and metallic grills on their prior power models. These models look great.

Watchwww.youtube.com
djMcClaren 2:24 AM - 24 August, 2013
My budget is close to four. I'm looking at two tops and two bottom. I want to produce my own dance. I will be playing lots of oldies for 40s and above. I heard the Evs and the Vegas, however, the Vegas sound a lot better to my ear. Every DJ like a different sound, on the other hand, I like the Vegas.
Joee 11:15 AM - 24 August, 2013
Quote:
My budget is close to four. I'm looking at two tops and two bottom. I want to produce my own dance. I will be playing lots of oldies for 40s and above. I heard the Evs and the Vegas, however, the Vegas sound a lot better to my ear. Every DJ like a different sound, on the other hand, I like the Vegas.

if four means $4,000, you need to be looking a different speakers
Joee 11:25 AM - 24 August, 2013
djMcClaren 6:30 AM - 25 August, 2013
What different powered speakers should I be looking into? I don't have a truck or Suv to haul passive speakers around. Powered speakers would be more economical to haul around to a dance, consequently, I have a four door car Camry.

DjMcClaren