DJing Discussion

This area is for discussion about DJing in general. Please remember the community rules when posting and try to be polite and inclusive.

Is it the slipmats?

mick0880 3:40 PM - 6 November, 2008
What up Fam...

I have these Glowtronics slipmats (non glow) and I'm not feeling them. I have to give the vinyl a slight more of a push because they don't catch onto the turntable like I want them to. A homeboy of mine has a set of Stanton slip mats with the yellow twirl design and underneath them he has plastic sheets also from Stanton. And they catch REAL GOOD. As soon as you let go of the record, it catches it quick...making his tables easier to cue than mine.

He told me that my mats are just too new...but I've been spinning on them for about 6 months. What's the deal? Is it the slipmats and what kind of material? or is it my vinyls aren't flat because they seem to be...
Milesy303 3:50 PM - 6 November, 2008
It could be warped vinyl, but it might just be the slipmats. Usually if I play on other mats sometimes you need to compensate for more drag. Some slipmats are made with extra grip for situations where you dont want slippy records.

I have a pair of DMC ones which are great. Never had any problems with them. Made with scratching / turntablism in mind.

To take a cheap trick from Q-Bert - Get a paper record sleeve insert and stick it under your slipmat for instant extra slip :)

A sheet of A4 trimmed down a little and a small hole in the middle would work just as well.
Gor 10:59 PM - 6 November, 2008
qberts trick uses plastic not paper. Also i dont think paper would be the best thing to use because when it slips it will create more noise than other slipmat materials. That sound will transmit through your needle and though not noticeable, adds noise.
Gor 11:02 PM - 6 November, 2008
If you want really grippy slipmats, use wetsuit material