DJing Discussion

This area is for discussion about DJing in general. Please remember the community rules when posting and try to be polite and inclusive.

Amp Suggestions for DJ setup: ZX5-90 w/ LS808 bottoms

ianzchurchill 3:26 AM - 25 June, 2013
Hi, I'm new to being a member of this site but have been lurking for quite awhile. I've been in audio for close to 5 years now and I recently purchased a set of used Electro Voice ZX5-90's for $500 (yes I opened them up to make sure all the original parts were in there before buying, they were). I needed something a little lighter and smaller to carry since my old setup of 2 Yorkville 808's as bottoms powered by an QSC RMX 2450 (in stereo) and my Electro Voice Eliminator Dual 15"s being powered by a QSC RMX 1450 (bridged) was too heavy for my taste. It did the job well enough but I hated lugging around those fat dual 15's (preferred the Peavey PV215's for portability but disliked their quality) AND the LS808's.. The 808's themselves are enough weight for me.. I didn't like having 4 speakers of that size and weight.

Anyway, sorry about that long paragraph. I'm looking to appropriately power 2 Electro Voice ZX5-90's and 2 Yorkville LS808's.

My first choice was the QSC GX7 for the ZX5-90s and leave the Yorkville LS808's being powered by the QSC RMX 2450.

Then I saw the 4 ohms rating of the QSC GX7 at 4 ohms and that got me into thinking I could most likely get a higher end up for the price of both the RMX and GX, while powering them both. I have a crossover and prefer passive, since I can tweak it to normally sound better than the powered counterparts (in my opinion, after all sound is just a specialized taste) and have the volume control right next me instead of having to go up to the speaker to adjust it. So the crossover point is moot. A dsp might help a little but for my usage I'd rather not spend more money for something that "might" help.