Serato Software Feature Suggestions

What features would you like to see in Serato software?

Serato DJ Icecast broadcasting with Track Metadata

Rob J 8:42 AM - 4 July, 2014
Hello, Serato Team!

I know that there has been at least one other thread which has brought up Icecast usage with Serato.

serato.com

I am bringing this up again as a matter of re-invigorating the possibility of getting Icecast to work directly with Serato DJ. It is direly important for internet DJs to have their playback track metadata automatically grabbed by the broadcast client and displayed for the listeners. I've been doing online broadcasting with Serato for nearly two years and this type of feature is a must-have, and would I be out of line to say this shouldn't be difficult to code into the software with absolutely minimal increases in system resource usage?

Of course, it goes without mentioning that "the big two" competitors in DJ software have the aforementioned track metadata integration with Icecast.

Please consider this as a possible feature in the future. Online broadcasting is becoming ever more popular and track display information is a must-have for this feature.

Thank you,
Rob J
Jkwvkers 1:56 PM - 13 November, 2014
I too use Serato DJ, with Nicecast software to broadcast to my Icecast server.

It would be helpful if you could be added to SeratoDJ that it would connect directly with Icecast and broadcast the metadata or have SeratoDJ work directly with Nicecast so that metadata can be passed through to the Icecast server.

Like Rob J says their are other software out there that will do this but I would prefer to carry on using Serato DJ with my Pioneer DJ SX and it would be an added bonus if metadata could be broadcasted while DJing live for my listeners could see the track being played if they don't know it.

Regards

Jkwvkers
AlxRyde 4:56 PM - 14 November, 2014