DJing Discussion

This area is for discussion about DJing in general. Please remember the community rules when posting and try to be polite and inclusive.

Who's using turntables for mobile gig's?

jroc453 6:19 PM - 21 April, 2010
Right now I own (2) CDJ 1000 MK3's and just bought (2) TTX turntables because I started on turntables in 97. I love the way serato feels on TT's over the CDJ's. I have been doing mobile gigs for 7 yrs and have been using the CDJ's with serato. I use a Dell laptop that runs ok with Serato but really want a MBP. The only way I can get the MBP is for me to sell the CDJ's though. I have flight cases for both right now. Do any of you use your TT's on mobile gigs? Cuz the only reason I would keep them would be for my mobile gigs. I never used TT's on mobile gigs though. Should I sell them and get my MBP and use my TT's on the gigs?
djbigboy 6:21 PM - 21 April, 2010
I use TT's on mot of my mobile gigs. I just prefer the touch even though its 100% heavier...I have a cdj set up, but I only use it in certain circumstances, like if I know there are stairs, etc...
jroc453 6:26 PM - 21 April, 2010
Thanks bro... I would hate to let them go... :-( but the way I am looking at it is... I would not use them that much if I can use the TT's. I would get a lot of use out of the mac though.
dirtyonekanobi 6:28 PM - 21 April, 2010
same here, I love the control on TTs - heavy as CRAP though. I had a coffin, and switch to flight cases, that helps a bit with the weight & packing.
jroc453 6:28 PM - 21 April, 2010
Have you had any issues when being on a stage that people dance on? Like having it wobble and the needle jumping?
jroc453 6:30 PM - 21 April, 2010
Quote:
same here, I love the control on TTs - heavy as CRAP though. I had a coffin, and switch to flight cases, that helps a bit with the weight & packing.

I have two separate flight cases for them. So weight should be ok.
terrible1fi 6:38 PM - 21 April, 2010