Serato DJ Lite / Intro General Discussion

Talk about Serato DJ Lite / Intro software and controllers.

File Analysis Stability

FlashFriction 11:48 PM - 18 February, 2013
Running Serato Intro DJ on a 1.5 year old MBP, which runs Mountain Lion.

So, over the past decade or so, I've spent quite some time making high quality digital files from my CDs, MiniDiscs, and vinyl, and I think, in a horribly misguided moment, a tape, with, in total, about half a dozen encoders. I've also purchased various tracks from Amazon.com and beatport... some are better than others, mostly the newer ones are better than the older ones, but they all suit my purposes.

Overall, I've got about 13k tracks.

Currently, I'm a software developer during the day... and I have to say, the number of times this software has crashed, so far, is pretty embarrassing. Trying to analyze my music, I'm getting anywhere from 50 to 500 tracks at a time before it crashes. I understand that the catalyst for these crashes are corrupt tracks, but why in the world are you not trapping these exceptions and throwing an error instead of crashing out? Is it a matter of access latency? If so, then why in the world wouldn't you make the file analysis a separate process that could be restarted by a controller process, rather than tying it in with the GUI so the whole thing just goes away?

If the only answer is to blame the corrupt tracks, and the only solution is to remove them, but you can't find out which tracks are corrupt without analyzing them, because they play totally fine, but when you analyze them, everything crashes... what am I supposed to do? Am I really left to sit in front of my computer for hours while I restart Serato every time it crashes? That's pretty lame, if you ask me.