Serato Software Feature Suggestions

What features would you like to see in Serato software?

Mixtrack Edge Jog Wheel Fix

DCal 1:55 PM - 6 July, 2015
As a precursor, let me say that I've been DJing for 6 years and normally use Scratch Live with Vinyl or CDJs for my weekend sets. That being said, I was very excited about using the Numark Mixtrack Edge as a travel controller or a quick setup for putting together playlists while sitting around my living room.

After purchasing the controller for use with SDJ and running it through the paces, I've found some serious issues with the controller's functionality in SDJ, and I decided to post my findings in the hopes of either warning people about these issues before they purchase the controller or (hopefully) helping make some changes to get this controller to function better for people who bought it for the same reasons I did. I'll admit I'm not sure whether these issues need to be resolved by Serato or Numark so I'll be posting this on both sites.

Without further ado, here are the issues I've found so far:

1. No pitch bend/nudge:
This is my biggest gripe. I prefer manual beat matching because I use a lot of older music that wasn't made with a digital metronome. As such, beat grids and the sync button won't work for my type of sets, so I never bothered setting them in Scratch Live or SDJ and I don't intend to. All the ads I read for this indicated there was a nudge function and I was disappointed to find that there actually isn't. Without it, this controller is basically unusable for the kind of sets I like to put together.

Based on a suggestion from a Numark rep, I tried the "scratch" button in an attempt to nudge that way. Unfortunately it's not really functional as a nudge option. As soon as you move the platter in either direction it stops the track momentarily, thereby A) causing dead air in the mix and B) making nudging into the incoming track nearly impossible.