DJing Discussion

This area is for discussion about DJing in general. Please remember the community rules when posting and try to be polite and inclusive.

consequences of not breaking in ortofon OM s-120's???

DJ Vtoner 1:41 AM - 22 October, 2014
So I've had a pair of ortofon OM s-120's for almost a year now and I've recently had to replace the one stylus. Im coming from 44-7s because I wanted a higher signal for use with serato. I've been djing for almost 14 yrs now, on the same 1200s as well, and I've never once heard of breaking in needles. I guess because I've never had any issues until now and searching the internet has been the first place to mention break in.

So the problem im having now after only 1 week on the new needle is the signal coming through SDJ is horrible. There was the typical .1 - .3 "pitch sway" which I'm used to... HOWEVER after about an hour of mixing tonight it went from the normal to dipping about 1.5 in either direction. The needle is clean, and only cleaned with the provided ortofon brush. I've also switched turntables to make sure it was that specific needle and not the pitch control failing with the same result. Since I had just replaced the needle I was being very easy with back cueing and avoiding scratching altogether to prolong its life. Both needles have the same turntable calibrations too. Contact points seem to be clean on both the tone arm and the head shell.

Could the lack of a break in cause my issue?

Any help is appreciated....I just hope I didn't waste my money buying these needles if this is going to be a reoccurring problem.
blackavenger 2:20 PM - 9 November, 2014
Sell those S-120s and buy the (white/black) Q-Berts........best Ortofons ever made, IMO.
dj jamalot 3:04 PM - 9 November, 2014
Or buy the Djs series best Ortofon's ever made, IMHO.
blackavenger 4:56 PM - 9 November, 2014