DJing Discussion

This area is for discussion about DJing in general. Please remember the community rules when posting and try to be polite and inclusive.

technics gold plated turntables?

click 3:00 AM - 1 February, 2006
Sorry for being a dunce, but what does gold plated mean? Is it like gold plated necklaces that rub of in the shower?

I have no experience really with gold plated things. The lowest I have gone is 10k, which I believe is the lowest one can go, and have never had experience buying gold plated things.

I have seen products that are 14k gold plated, 18k gold plated but never bought them. But I have seen somethings that are sold as gold lose there goldness

The turntables are gold plated but it doesn't say what karat. Has anyone had experience with gold plated stuff in general, and more specifically, with technics gold plated tables? Does the 'gold' wear off?
Dj Karl-R 3:59 AM - 1 February, 2006
they wont rub off lol at least not from what i seen... im sure it can happen with the right conditions
click 4:02 AM - 1 February, 2006
Actually, i am more curious about the start stop button and the pitch slider. After years of use, won't they wear out?
DJ Silk 4:48 AM - 1 February, 2006
I have a pair. I believe it's 18k and I'll let you know in about 10 years if it wears out. :-)

I keep mine in the house but the other people that I know that own them have them as trophies.
anewsome 6:25 AM - 1 February, 2006
in my opinion, you had better be a damn good dj if you are rockin gold plated turntables. anything less and you are just frontin',.. either that or you have too much money.
click 6:29 AM - 1 February, 2006
It's true, you HAVE TO be a virtuoso to rock the golds..
DJ GaFFle 12:11 PM - 1 February, 2006
I'm afraid to chunk out the loot for them for fear Technics will come out with a newer turntable model with something like more torque or replaceable RCA's...
punosion 3:24 PM - 1 February, 2006