Software help archive

A read-only archive of old serato.com help threads.

Serato DJ crash with internal & external hard drive libraries and Numark NS6

Product
Serato DJ Pro
Version
Hardware
Numark NS6
Computer
Mac
OS
Platform
-
Joey Tunes 4:11 PM - 8 April, 2013
Hello! I've been experiencing an issue since day one and I'm a bit concerned that Serato DJ is not functioning properly. Just a bit of background, I'm a former VDJ user and have used my NS6 for over a year running VDJ. I've fooled around with Itch on my NS6 a few times but didn't make the move. When Serato DJ was announced and I saw the functionality and level of professionalism put into the product, I decided to get ready for the release. I've been prepping for the last 6 months for the addition of the NS6 to the Serato DJ supported devices list. I am currently running a 1TB internal drive and a WD MyPassport Studio 2TB (both formatted Mac OS Extended (Journaled). I have about 600GB of video tracks on my internal and about the same of audio tracks on my external off a 2011 Macbook Pro with i5 processor and 16GB RAM. I've created a "video" crate in which I imported video tracks from internal hard drive and I created an "audio" crate in which I imported audio tracks from my external. I've also created "genre" filters (from ID3 tags) that pull tracks from both drives. When I perform an event (wedding, quince, corporate, etc.) I usually create an "event" folder and add special requests or banger hits that are specific to this event. Those crates usually include tracks from my internal and external drives. That about describes my library setup.

Here are a few other important details. Both Serato libraries are contained in "_Serato_" folders built on each drive. Serato backups work just fine and offline mode works fine as well. No issues. All software and drivers are up to date with Serato DJ and NS6. I've researched my issues online and have found many articles stating that it could be: