DJing Discussion

This area is for discussion about DJing in general. Please remember the community rules when posting and try to be polite and inclusive.

Old DJ learning a new trick...

dja_one 12:12 PM - 18 August, 2008
I have reached a level of frustration that I haven't been at since the first day I got my Gemini XL-100s and Gemini Mixer with the sampler 17 yrs ago...haha. You when you try to emulate what you hear other DJ's do when you first get your set-up and you just sound horrible (while you are learning) in your bedroom or Grandma basement(for me).

I have been DJing for 17 yrs. I would consider myself a mixologist but my idol was Jazzy Jeff (like every other aspiring DJ in the late 80's early 90's). With that said...I grew up learing how to transform with the best of them. I have approximately 3 scratches that I can do (respectably) and I just do those 4 in different order or variation. I have recently found myself wanting to know how to do more...shit I want an array of scratches at my disposal to add to my top notch mixing and second to none music selector reputation. This is where the frusstration begins. Please don't laugh...hahah...I went and bought me a DVD (the Q-Bert DIY is actually pretty good) to learn from. Over the years I have trained my hands and muscles to do the 3 scratches that I can do and I find myself not even being able to do the level 1 basic scratches (Grandmaster Theodore/Grandmaster Flash/Etc...). OMG, I sound like I am in my grand mothers basement all over again....hahaha, I LOVE IT. I got this new hunger again, it is crazy. This shit is incredibly hard to try and go backwards in what you do (especially with my left).