DJing Discussion

This area is for discussion about DJing in general. Please remember the community rules when posting and try to be polite and inclusive.

What genre do you play?

ASO 1:27 PM - 19 January, 2006
Myself, it's tribal/prog/tech/dirty and dark kind of house, and starting to dabble in some minimal techno also.

Wondering what everyone else plays?
punosion 4:06 PM - 19 January, 2006
More-or-less the same thing, prog/breaks/tech/tribal/darker shades of house, etc. Getting real into the prog breaks and nu-skool stuff coming out now, also starting to realize the beauty of minimal techno.

I'm an amateur in the true sense of the word...I play what I love (and spend too much money on gear for not getting paid in the process). :)
Anton 4:22 PM - 19 January, 2006
I spin breaks (nu-skool, prog etc - whole world) since 2003 (pumping kind house, than i'm studying to dj before). Getting into both scratch music and live remixing scene now.
boabmatic 5:03 PM - 19 January, 2006
hip hop + uptempo R&B (I.e. not the soppy slow love songs)

I have dropped some of my old rock fav's in a set when I was DJin at a skate park last year...stuff like Henry Rollin,Alice in chains,pennywise etc..
Melissa 6:30 PM - 19 January, 2006
Hot garbage! Just kidding. I play everything. Hip hop, House (funky, latin, deep, vocal, commercial), R&B, reggae (+ton), rock n roll, 80's, latin, soca, zouk... I like music that makes you happy- no dark beats in my crates...
punosion 6:43 PM - 19 January, 2006
Melissa, dark beats make my head bounce...and when my head bounces, I'm happy. ;)

No happy hardcore, though. :D
DJ Rumor 7:07 PM - 19 January, 2006
Hip Hop (Old School, Golden Era, Current), 80's, Funk, Rock, Disco, Jazz, New Wave, Soul, Oldies, House
djtonypsalms 7:31 PM - 19 January, 2006
Specialize in Roots Reggae... But open to all Genres!
ASO 8:09 PM - 19 January, 2006
Quote: