Serato Video General Discussion

Talk about Serato Video and Video-SL.

Serato DJ + Pioneer DDJ-SX

DJMisterE 2:30 AM - 3 December, 2012
So I finally got my Pioneer DDJ-SX in and I have to say this is the "Game Changer". I've been a Professional DJ and use that term very seriously, for close to 20 years now. I can say with confidence that I've really seen it all.

Several years ago I really started to take notice to the all in one controllers and knew that one day in the near future this would be the ideal delivery method for most of my performances. Only when that perfectly engineered balance between hardware and software was mastered, would I consider the addition to my equipment roster.

That day has finally come! Pioneer & Serato have teamed up to create a controller that bridges the gap between mobile and club djs. This unit really can do it all. Whether you want to scratch, jump between cues, roll the beats, play with effects or even dive into a 6 pad sample back of your own programming there isn't a reason not to be interested at the very least with the DDJ-SX. Serato DJ is another milestone for the New Zealand based software company. Allowing 4 decks and full manipulation of your audio / video is something the DJ community has been asking for over the past few years. Now, adding this reality to a All-In-One controller with 4 channels of mixing, you really have the platform to perform!

A big selling point for me is that I now can walk into a club or event with my backpack & this unit. Before I would have to bring in and hook up the following equipment (2) - (3) Pioneer CDJ-2000 CD Players, (1) Pioneer DJM-900 Mixer, (1) USB-Midi Cable, (2) Novation Dicers, (1) Serato SL3 Scratch LIVE USB Box, (1) Power Strip and another variety of cables. I've now saved approx 20 minutes of load in and setup / another 20 minutes of load out / breakdown. This is HUGE for someone like me who is used to bringing in my equipment to all my gigs.