Software help archive

A read-only archive of old serato.com help threads.

CD decks pitch drifts slightly

Product
Scratch Live
Version
Hardware
Rane SL3
Computer
Mac
OS
Platform
-
ollebe 3:29 PM - 4 August, 2012
Everything is set up properly. I've been running Serato for almost 2 years but this problem occurs every now and then. Normally when i've updated the software or re-installed my computer. I've never known why the problem occurs, but what i've had to do before is to properly uninstall serato (all files) and remove the bpm tags for my whole iTunes library and then have them re-analyzed. But this time the problem won't go away. Tunes that normally used to ride for 30-50 seconds starts to drift after 2-3 seconds. I have found that serato strangely don't read my cd decks at 33.3, but the values varies instead. Like deck 1 32.5 and deck 32.8.

Tech details:
MacBook Pro
Processor 2 GHz Intel Core i7
Memory 8 GB 1333 MHz DDR3

Pioneer CDJ - 900 Players

Uploaded Screen-shots:
ge.tt

I've never been able to calibrate any CDJ:s (tried on various club systems). The estimate button always go all the way to the left. And trust me, I've done everything step by step according to the tutorials that are online. So I've always left it at 48,0. It doesn't help though if i move the estimate button manually either way to get away with the drift problem.

Would love some feedback on this!

Many thanks in advance.
3:30 PM, 4 Aug 2012
ollebe attached a file: Screen Shot 2012-08-03 at 10.43.28 PM.png
View· Permalink
3:30 PM, 4 Aug 2012
ollebe attached a file: Screen Shot 2012-08-03 at 10.43.28 PM.png
View· Permalink
Serato, Forum Moderator
Mathew C 3:48 AM - 6 August, 2012
Hi ollebe,

Does this happen with both decks? With regard to calibration, all you need to do it leave the cdj stopped and click 'estimate', it is an interesting test moving the slider manually though.

Does it happen with both jog modes?

Quote: