DJing Discussion

This area is for discussion about DJing in general. Please remember the community rules when posting and try to be polite and inclusive.

Mac Scmack!!! You DONT need a Mac....Contrary to what you may have heard!!!!!

Notorious Dj Mac 8:56 PM - 14 May, 2012
Ive been using SL for almost 2 years now. I started with a wack Gateway PC...It did the job...But when I wanted to start doing video, It wouldn't run the Video-SL or Serato Video. Being that Im not a "rich" DJ, I purchased a "used" Mac on ebay and It worked awesome!! After only 2 months, the Mac crapped out on me (motherboard issue) and I was back to the Gateway....So no more Video-SL.....Not having $1200 bucks to buy the cheapest MacBook Pro, I did some research and bought a Samsung NP305E7A. By far the best $449 bucks I have ever spent!!! I can run SL with zero latency and Serato Video with a 5 Latency......to date this PC has been flawless!!! I dont sell computers or work for Samsung. I just wanna let some of you DJ's out there, that are on a buget, know that you can do this Serato thing without spending a small fortune on a Mac!!!
spirez 9:42 PM - 14 May, 2012
Cool story bro.
Billy18bm 9:43 PM - 14 May, 2012
so your saying you do need a mac if you want to run video with a lower latency?
DJ Tecniq 9:45 PM - 14 May, 2012
Quote:
+1000
skinnyguy 9:49 PM - 14 May, 2012
yay, you're the 1%.
the_black_one 10:03 PM - 14 May, 2012
so your name is "DJ MAC"???????
Joee 10:07 PM - 14 May, 2012
Quote:

Quote:

LOL.......
ced_so_thoed 10:07 PM - 14 May, 2012
ay
That's still gonna depend on somethings. My Windows laptop was doing the job but I couldn't record my mixes while djing without drop outs. I had to have a different laptop to record on. With the Mac, I'm able to dj and record at the same damn time. And I'm gonna see if I could do the video and record it too on the same Mac. Plus being able to partion the hard drive for Windows is neat.
yep
phatbob 10:10 PM - 14 May, 2012