DJing Discussion

This area is for discussion about DJing in general. Please remember the community rules when posting and try to be polite and inclusive.

How many of you Dj's use a MPC?

Capo Status 1:04 AM - 11 January, 2012
I was thinking of purchasing a MPC not really to bring with me to gigs but to make beats on etc, whats a good mpc?
DJ Goce 1:13 AM - 11 January, 2012
2500 is really good, similar to classic 2000xl but with spares available plus the convenience of usb and cf cards ..... but wait till Namm, Akai have 3 new models coming out..
pdidy 3:32 AM - 11 January, 2012
DJ LDN 5:21 AM - 23 January, 2012
Depends what you're looking for. Are you prepared to sacrifice function for sound - or would you prefer to sacrifice sound for function?

I wouldn't bother getting any of that Numark rubbish.
Capo Status 6:00 AM - 23 January, 2012
I'm new to this, I don't really want it for live performances, just something simple to start with to make remixes.
DJ NoNseNse 6:03 AM - 23 January, 2012
Get maschine or the new mpc coming out. Mpc's out now are outdated
DJ LDN 6:32 AM - 23 January, 2012
Quote:
I'm new to this, I don't really want it for live performances, just something simple to start with to make remixes.

Hi mate, I'm a hardware man myself and I could wax poetic about Atari's, MPC's and samplers till you die of boredom - but if you're just looking for something to make a remix or two, you are really better of with something like Ableton LIVE. Many people just get an MPC because that's the fashionable thing to do, but with these new Numark ones that you connect up to your computer why not just use a midi controller? Same thing really.