Serato Video General Discussion

Talk about Serato Video and Video-SL.

Repair Corrupted MP4's

Dj Shamann 8:43 PM - 20 December, 2011
So I'm new to video-SL, I knew there was a problem with the earlier build of 2.3 and corrupting MP4's (yes I know we just got a new release) but I didn't realize the problem was in 2.2 as well (which I was still on) so 40 or so files were corrupted, actually 100+ were corrupted but I had a back up of most of my files, just these ones took a hit and I can't get them again from Xtendamix due to the limit.

Anyway, so I went back to 1.9 and was able to build overviews, weed out the bad files and put them in a folder, I can't even play these files in my media player anymore let alone get them going in SL so I was wondering if anybody knew any work arounds. If these were mp3's I'd have no problem but I can't get any of my DAW's to open the corrupted files and I tried Premier but no go on that either.

I tried a few search strings but didn't see much here, Google didn't help me very much, one program came with a secondary program that was a little shady for me, another did a basic search of my entire drive (Stellar Recovery) but didn't single out anything properly and asked me to pay before I knew whether the program would work properly.

So yeah, any ideas would be cool. With Christmas happening the pockets are a little toight so something inexpensive would be preferable, free even, but if I have to pay I will. (if it exceeds the monthly Xtendamix cost though it makes no sense for these files)
Res-Q 9:13 PM - 20 December, 2011
why dont you shoot XT a email and ask 'em to reset those downloads.
tomatoslice 9:25 PM - 20 December, 2011
I've been waiting for a post like this and going one never came.
I mentioned previously that corrupted files may lead to a monetary loss. No idea what serato can do about that. they should tho.

Email xtendamix.