DJing Discussion

This area is for discussion about DJing in general. Please remember the community rules when posting and try to be polite and inclusive.

Silver or Black? What do you prefer?

jpresto 6:04 PM - 18 October, 2007
I've been using my silver 1200s for almost 8 years now. I bought my first one used for $300 bucks, then shortly after bought a brand new one for $729.

8 years later, I've had very successful DJ career and I've never had any major problems with them (except for some grounding issues that I've had with the used one, but fixed a long time ago).

I always considered myself 'Old School', because I had silver 12's. Nowadays, everyone has black. Lately, I've been yearning for the blacks...I don't know what it is, I guess I'm evolving.

I haven't looked at pricing on 12s ever since buying mine, so I was pretty surprised to see the Black 1210s going for $439 on DJ Deals.com. I'm considering selling my silvers for blacks.

I'm just curious, what do you guys prefer?
dj luis 6:06 PM - 18 October, 2007
silver for style, black for glamor

you pick...
DJ FLATLINE 6:11 PM - 18 October, 2007
I prefer Tech that work, black or silver........lol

No really, I'm partial to black

I'm gonna paint my covers White to go with my white Hard Drive case, laptop and stand. (I want to paint my 909 but I'm scared as hell....lol)
Soulsonica™ 6:17 PM - 18 October, 2007
Classic Silver.

I would be interested in a pair of black 1200s IF they where true matte/satin black though. 1210s aren't true black - they're kind of dark brownish gray and they don't match any other gear such as the black finish of Rane mixers.
DJ FLATLINE 6:21 PM - 18 October, 2007
They match my 909 depending on the lighting in the room. The 909 has a weird colour to it too...It's black but it's not grey either
DJ FLATLINE 6:21 PM - 18 October, 2007
damn no edit button!!!....meant it's not black but not grey either...lol
a-swift 6:23 PM - 18 October, 2007