DJing Discussion

This area is for discussion about DJing in general. Please remember the community rules when posting and try to be polite and inclusive.

A BEGINNER! PLEASE HELP!

DJ Quagmire 5:45 AM - 7 October, 2011
Im still a beginner DJ, and dont know much. I was wondering if someone can help me and give me the run down on how to organize my music, where to get music from, how to tell what the songs genre is, just any advice for a beginner I would much appreciate it.
DJ EZSMOOTH 5:51 AM - 7 October, 2011
BPM's is your first and foremost best friend to organize tracks by. Genres, I have Top 40, Dance, House, Hip-Hop, Acapellas and Instrumentals. I subscribe to Djcity.com and mymp3pool.com
DJ Quagmire 6:15 AM - 7 October, 2011
Quote:
BPM's is your first and foremost best friend to organize tracks by. Genres, I have Top 40, Dance, House, Hip-Hop, Acapellas and Instrumentals. I subscribe to Djcity.com and mymp3pool.com

Thanks man i appreciate it. Also what is the difference from a blend and a mash-up? and what does it mean to mix in key? how do i find the key to a track?
toasted 6:56 AM - 7 October, 2011
a blended mix is more like faded in and out as you cross over to the next track, a mashup is chopping the 2 tracks back and forward and mixing in other tracks faster
id just concentrate on listening to the music and seeing what works when you mix, think about if the following track will clash with the one playing
i dont bother with mixing in key, never have and probably never will, i mix by ear id most likely struggle to tell what key a tune is in
this isnt 100% but i think half of the mixing in key is because people want a x+z= formula
alot of people new to mixing havnt got a clue so they try and use it to save them learning or because they havnt got the ear for music
not the case with everyone though, i just cant see the point myself you cant make people dance by using a spreadsheet , its about feeling what your doing
DJ EZSMOOTH 3:07 PM - 7 October, 2011