DJing Discussion

This area is for discussion about DJing in general. Please remember the community rules when posting and try to be polite and inclusive.

Harmonic Mixing Question!!

shhk88 5:31 PM - 2 December, 2010
What's up SSL family? I have few questions about harmonic mixing. I know a lot of djs are mixing in keys these days.. I am new to this harmonic mixing. I just got Mixed In Key and I am learning how to mix in key with the Camelot wheel. I spin Top40, Hip Hop, Dance and Electro. My questions are:

1. Does it really make a difference when we mix songs in keys such as 2A>2B>3B>3A?
or can we jump around with the keys like 2A>4A>4B>12B?

2. I listen to a lot of big name DJs. I have noticed that sometimes they do mix in keys and sometimes they just jump around with the keys. To me, everything sounds good but doesn't it make the keys crash together?

3. Should I rely on the keys to mix? or Should I not to worry too much about it?

Thank you!!
Dj-M.Bezzle 5:44 PM - 2 December, 2010
Does it sound better when you mix harmonically? YES

WIll the general public care if you dont? Prob not

Shold you always do it? Try to but whyen playing in most clubs track selection is just as important, play what the people want to hear and the harmony of it becauses less important
Audio1 5:45 PM - 2 December, 2010
You might be worring about this a little too much.

1 - You usually can mix within a key and the one above, below. Say if you are in 2A, You can harmonically mix with 2A track but can mix with 1A and 3A... to jump from 2A to 4A, I believe is one form of an "energy boost", by going up 2 semitones but it has to be done (I believe) with no melodies involved. This is idea for hip hop and pop music where you'd be mixing raw drums before the keys clash.