Software help archive

A read-only archive of old serato.com help threads.

"Error: failed to connect audio" on connect

Product
ITCH
Version
-
Hardware
Vestax VCI-300 +
Computer
PC
OS
Platform
-
ohsynap 4:58 AM - 4 September, 2010
Product: itch
Hardware: vestax-vci-300||no-fx-controller
Computer: pc
OS Version: win764
---

I have been using a Vestax VCI-300 for last several months very happily with my main laptop. I recently went about a week without using it, and upon booting up ITCH found that I was always getting the "Error: failed to connect audio!!" message and hardware showing as disconnected, even though the controller was clearly on.

I have spent a number of hours combing these forums and support and not found anything that works. Things I have tried include:
-Getting a power adapter rather than using usb power.. failed
-Trying multiple USB ports.. failed
-unplugging all other USB devices.. failed
-Upgrading from ITCH 1.5 to ITCH 1.7.. failed
-Reinstalling ITCH and VCI-300 drivers multiple times.. failed
-Deleting database v2 and rebuilding.. failed
-uninstalling my webcam drivers.. failed

I installed ITCH on a friend's laptop and confirmed that the VCI-300 worked fine, so the issue is not with the hardware or cable.

Thoughts?? This is very frustrating :(
ohsynap 5:06 AM - 4 September, 2010
Btw, when the device is on and connected I see the power light, platters are on and blue, and few buttons are lit up when ITCH is turned on. I can spin the platters and they turn red, then blue when I release. Fiddling with anything has the "Data" light turn on as expected.

Also tried toggling the "THRU" switch with no result.

All device drivers show up in Windows. I can successfully play audio through the VCI-300 from ITCH in offline mode when the device is on and set as default playback device.
Serato, Forum Moderator
Samuel S 1:31 AM - 6 September, 2010
Hi ohsynap,

Could you please let me know your computer specifications? (processor, RAM, HD, OS)