DJing Discussion

This area is for discussion about DJing in general. Please remember the community rules when posting and try to be polite and inclusive.

Am I moving too slow?

DJ Lewshis 8:32 AM - 4 July, 2010
I have been DJing with equipment for about 2 months and I'm not sure if I am learning everything fast enough.
Right now, I've got neck pain from DJing so much. lol. :)

This is what I've learned:
-The Baby, Forward & Backward, Tear, Scribble, Chirp, Transformer (It's not perfect, but it works in some songs), and Flare (It's not perfect either, but it too works in some songs) scratches.
-Beat Juggles are probably my best feature
-I've made a few mash-ups. I edit tiny things in them every day.
-Beat-matching. I'm really good at beat-matching as long as I have the BPM of the song written somewhere :)

Things I'm not too good at:
-Transitions because when I try things off the fly, my transitions are horrible. But when I have it planned, they are almost perfect.
- The Crab and Twiddle Scratch. I've made my fingers bleed from practicing these 2, but I just can't get the right sound.

Also, I'm not sure if I should put ankle weights on my wrists to help me move faster. What do you think?
The Return of Dj Sparky 8:47 AM - 4 July, 2010
ha ha 2 months, things take time to perfect,
you need to relax and just go with the flow and everything will fall into place
djchope 8:55 AM - 4 July, 2010
seems like your exaggerating a little, just have fun with it.
ninos 9:25 AM - 4 July, 2010
yup no doubt. just keep playing and playing. everything will fall into place.
philldafunk 10:18 AM - 4 July, 2010
As far as finger strength goes, try out one of those guitar grip strengtheners, also while you're still fresh try working on your ambidextrousness (one HUGE thing I regret not doing).

Sounds like you're having fun mastering your craft! Another bit of advice I have is that if it gets to a point where it's no longer fun for you, take a step back and prioritize.....

peace